R-T All-Local Soccer Team

Columbia goalkeeper Alec Venhaus leaps to make a save on a header from Gibault’s Karson Huels (11) during the sectional title game on Oct. 27. (John Spytek photo)

With a third straight state appearance for Gibault this past fall, a Monroe County school has advanced to the state soccer tournament each of the past six seasons. 

Columbia won a regional crown and Waterloo captured a second straight conference championship in 2018, showing that the local soccer scene is indeed alive and well.

Here’s a look at this year’s Republic-Times All-Local Soccer Team. 

Karson Huels, Gibault. A McKendree University commit, this senior midfielder earned Illinois High School Soccer Coaches Association All-State Team honors with 16 goals and 18 assists.

Riley Hubler, Columbia. A knee injury put an early end to his high school career, but Hubler still managed to lead the Eagles with 20 goals this fall. He was named to the IHSSCA All-Sectional Team.

Logan Doerr, Gibault. Another senior leader for the Hawks, Doerr earned IHSSCA All-Sectional Team honors with 23 goals and 14 assists this season.

Alex Barton, Columbia. This senior picked up the scoring slack after the loss of Hubler, finishing with 18 goals and nine assists for the Eagles to earn IHSSCA All-Sectional Team honors.

Adam Stearns, Gibault. The Hawks were led on defense by this senior, who also earned IHSSCA All-Sectional Team honors.

Eli Gardner, Waterloo. This junior midfielder finished with three goals and 13 assists for the Bulldogs, earning him IHSSCA Honorable Mention recognition. He’ll return to help lead what looks to be a strong Bulldogs unit in 2019.

Nolan Rick, Waterloo. This senior defender earned first team all-conference honors in the Mississippi Valley Conference for his solid play this fall. He also scored two goals for the ‘Dogs.

Charlie Harres, Columbia. Harres earned all-conference honors in the Cahokia Conference and anchored the Eagles defense this fall.

Dylan Altadonna, Gibault. Another senior leader for the Hawks, Altadonna provided clutch defense throughout the season.

Garrett Smith, Waterloo. A senior defender, Smith earned second team MVC all-conference honors for his strong play.

Alec Venhaus, Columbia. This junior goalkeeper posted a 21-4-3 record with 20 shutouts this fall to earn all-conference honors.

Sam Ward, Waterloo. A junior goalkeeper, Ward will look for even bigger things in 2019 after earning first team MVC all-conference honors with an 11-9-3 record and 152 total saves.

Karson Bridges, Columbia. Only a sophomore, Bridges finished second in scoring on the Eagles with 19 goals and nine assists this fall to earn all-conference honors. Look for plenty more goals from him in 2019.

Johnny Adams, Gibault. This senior jack of all trades excelled in the middle of the field for the Hawks, coming up big in key moments. 

Micah Peters, Columbia. Another senior for the Eagles, Peters finished with eight goals and nine assists to earn all-conference honors.

Cam Kincheloe, Gibault. Yet another senior leader for the Hawks, Kincheloe scored nine goals with three assists this fall.

Brennan LaCroix, Waterloo. A junior defender, LaCroix earned second team all-conference honors. He scored two goals with two assists.

Brady Marshall, Waterloo. Despite being injured for portions of the season, this senior midfielder managed six goals and three assists and earned second team all-conference honors.

Tate Schilling, Gibault. This sophomore transfer from Waterloo made his presence felt in key moments, finishing with eight goals and six assists for the Hawks. He’ll help lead the Hawks in 2019.

Jonah James, Columbia. Another super sophomore, James scored eight goals with 10 assists for the Eagles to capture all-conference honors.

Ryan Lammert, Columbia. Another senior, Lammert scored two goals with 10 assists and earned all-conference honors.

Gavin Kohnz, Gibault. This junior provided gritty defense for the Hawks during the team’s deep postseason run. There’s more in store for him in 2019.

Connor Olson (Gibault), Nathan Touchette (Valmeyer), Brad Meyer (Columbia), Cam Eden (Columbia), Derek Young (Waterloo), Dalton Blanchard (Waterloo), Drew Shaffer (Columbia), Collin O’Bryan (Columbia), Ryan Swindle (Gibault), Antonio Pepe (Gibault), Hayden Reese (Waterloo), Will Janson (Gibault)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email