R-T wins state awards

Friday the 13th was a lucky day for the Republic-Times, as it brought home four first place plaques from the Illinois Press Association state newspaper awards contest in Springfield.

For the second year in a row, the Republic-Times won first place in its division for “Best Website” in the IPA contest. The paper also won first place for “Best Web Project” for its 2013 Best of R-T awards program that engaged the community through online voting. The Republic-Times also won two advertising awards — first place for “Best Classified Section” and first place for “Best Classified Promotion.”

This is the fourth straight year the R-T has won at least one first place award from the Illinois Press Association; the paper won first place for “Best Sports Section” in 2010 and 2011, first place for “Best Spot News Photo” in 2011, and first for “Best Website” in 2012.

To subscribe to Monroe County’s only award-winning newspaper, click here.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Corey Saathoff

Corey is the editor of the Republic-Times. He has worked at the newspaper since 2004, and currently resides in Columbia. He is also the principal singer-songwriter and plays guitar in St. Louis area country-rock band The Trophy Mules.
HTC web