Early voting now underway

Monroe County Clerk Dennis Knobloch announced that early voting for the March 15 primary got underway last week as scheduled following previous concerns about a possible delay.

Early voting, by mail and in person, is now available in the county clerk’s office at the Monroe County Courthouse through March 14.

The State Board of Elections had received ballot objections for some presidential candidates in Illinois, which caused concern that the start of early voting would be delayed. The Board of Elections cleared all pending objections in time for the Feb. 4 early voting start date.

For more information on early voting, call 939-8681, ext. 302.

Voter registration, or the transfer of registration for the primary election, closes on Tuesday, Feb. 16. In order to vote in the upcoming election, voter registration must be current, including your correct address.

Grace period registration and voting will be available in the county clerk’s office beginning Wednesday, Feb. 17.

Local candidates running in contested races in the March 15 primary are Republican county commissioner candidates Mark Altadonna and Vicki Koerber, Republican state’s attorney candidates Myron Hanna and Chris Hitzemann, Republican county coroner candidates Bob Hill and Wayne Kohlmeier, and Democrat state’s attorney candidates Heather Dabler and Dennis Field.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Corey Saathoff

Corey is the editor of the Republic-Times. He has worked at the newspaper since 2004, and currently resides in Columbia. He is also the principal singer-songwriter and plays guitar in St. Louis area country-rock band The Trophy Mules.
HTC web