Columbia school board approves 2013 tax levy

The Columbia Board of Education approved the 2013 tax levy adoption and recognized several student, coach and teacher achievements at the Dec. 19 meeting.

At the Nov. 20 meeting, the board had reviewed the levy, planning for the district to levy at a rate of 4.6 percent more than the prior year’s extension.

In past years, the equalized assessed valuation of the district has decreased, and this year will be the same, superintendent Gina Segobiano said at the Nov. 20 meeting.

β€œThe problems that we face are with trying to keep up with our bonds and interest schedule and callable bonds,” she said. β€œIt’s tough, and it’s driven our tax rate up about 20 cents over a three-year period.”

At the beginning of the meeting, students and their parents gathered to be recognized by the school board for their outstanding achievements so far this school year:

Columbia Middle School students Emily Cafolla, Charles Harres and Casey Avise-Rouse were recognized as the top three earners of community service hours, respectively.

Columbia High School students Libbye Tellor, Annie Dent and Alex Bell were recognized as the top three earners of community service hours, respectively.

Ian Boyer-Edwards was recognized for his perfect ACT score and making the IMEA All-State Band.

Mady Wetzel was recognized for attending the IMEA Future Music Educators Seminar.

Brannan Hutchinson and Claire Ryterski were recognized for IMEA State Honors Choir.

Benjamin Campbell was recognized for earning a silver medal in the Special Olympics Regional Bowling event.

Michael Barker was recognized for placing 26th in the 2013 IHSA State Golf Tournament.

Allie Leingang was recognized for placing sixth in the IHSA State Golf Tournament and being named all-state.

Grant Snow was recognized for IHSFA 1st Team All State Football (Class 4A).

Football player Cole Foster was recognized for IHSFCA All State Academic Team.

Soccer player Andrew Dossett was recognized for All American – NHSCA and First Team All State – IHSSCA.

Eddie Starr was recognized for All-State – IHSSCA and was one of five soccer goalies recognized by the State of Illinois.

Soccer player Matthew Roderick was recognized for All State – IHSSCA and was one of 60 field players recognized by the State of Illinois.

Quinten Spivey was recognized for First Team IHSSCA All Sectional and First Team Chicago Fire All-State All Academic Soccer.

Kyle Gudeman was recognized for Fourth Team Chicago Fire All-State All Academic Soccer.

Coach Scott Horner was recognized as St. Louis Rams Football Coach of the Week.

Jason Mathenia was recognized as the Region 12 Soccer Coach of the Year – Southern Region of Illinois.

Teacher Martha Shelton was recognized for being the recipient of seven grants in two years to support her students at Eagleview.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


The Republic-Times has been Monroe County's hometown newspaper since 1890. Serving Columbia, Waterloo, Valmeyer, Hecker and every town in between, we strive to provide the news that matters most to you in the timeliest manner possible. For more information on subscribing to the Republic-Times, call 939-3814 or visit the "Subscribe" page on this website.
HTC web