Candidates file for April election - Republic-Times | News

Candidates file for April election

By on December 19, 2018 at 2:55 pm

Monday marked the final day candidates could file for the municipal elections in April.

Most of Monroe County will see a relatively uneventful election season, with the exception of one city. 


Waterloo will have no contested races at the city or school board level, though it will have one for the park district. 

Mayor Tom Smith will be running unopposed for his third term. Former Waterloo fire chief Mark “Yogi” Yeager had explored a mayoral run but ultimately decided against filing.

Also running uncontested are Waterloo City Clerk Barbara Pace and Treasurer Brad Papenberg. 

Additionally, aldermen in all four wards will not face opposition…>>>


Read the complete list of candidates who have filed for municipal and school board races in Columbia, Hecker, Waterloo, Valmeyer, Maeystown and Fults in the December 19, 2018, newspaper.

If you don’t already receive the Republic-Times newspaper in your mailbox, click here or call 939-3814 to subscribe.

Or consider joining a growing number of readers who receive their news electronically. To view a free demo of the online R-T, click here.

Subscribe to the full-color online edition of the Republic-Times, which is delivered to your inbox every Wednesday by lunchtime and can be accessed anywhere, from any electronic device, for just $25 a year, by clicking here or calling 939-3814.

James Moss