Waterloo Hall of Fame Class of 2013 announced


Waterloo High School announces its second Hall of Fame class of 2013 that will be presented during halftime at the Feb. 1 varsity boys basketball game against Triad. The following Bulldog athletes will be inducted:

  • 1952 baseball and basketball player Cleon (Sonny) West
  • 1954 basketball standout, baseball player and brother Bobby (Bud) West
  • 1961 basketball, baseball, cross country and track star Rich Henke
  • The second women to be inducted into the WHS Hall of Fame, 1976 athlete of the year and Track and Field standout Gail Hoffmann Yeager.
  • The first women’s team inducted into the Bulldog Hall of Fame, the 1978 Women’s 880 meter relay team who went to the State meet and placed second. Members of the team include: Dawn Badger Sweatt, Susie Hick Schwegel, Margaret Mueller McFarland and Tanya Pope Abbott. Dawn Reynolds Olson (inducted last year as the first female inductee) ran with the team to help them get to state but suffered a knee injury and was unable to run the 880 meter relay race.
  • The 1961 basketball team who won the Cahokia Conference and fell in the Regionals on the road to state. Team members include: Larry Diehl, Marvin Lich, Dennis Esker, John Lauer, Denny Gentsch, Bob Niebruegge, Rich Henke, Bob Pelch, Wally Hoffmann and Ronald Watters.
  • The 1988 baseball team that made it to the final four and tied for third at State. Members of the team include: John Baxmeyer, Jason Krebel, Jim Breidecker, Mike Lloyd, Denny Davis, Eric Maurer, Brian Downing, Aaron Metzger, Tim Fulte, Jeff Novack, Eddie Harris, Randy Ripplemeyer, Brett Hefner, Scott Stockel, Kevin Hoffman, Brad Weise, Garrett Kohnz, Brian Wilson, Scott Kaestner and Bobby Zirkelbach. Lon Fulte, who was inducted as a coach last year, was the coach of the team.
  • Coach of the Bulldog basketball team and several other sports from 1950-1957, John Capron. He led the 1952 basketball team to a 31-3 record which still stands as a school record.
  • Basketball coach, and coach of several other sports, from 1957-1963, Willard Sims. Sims developed the Waterloo Track team and had a 120-58 record with the Bulldog basketball team.
  • The Republic-Times’ very own Vernie Moffitt will be inducted as the first sports writer in the WHS Hall of Fame. Moffitt began writing for the Waterloo Times in the late ’50s. He was inducted into the Illinois Basketball Hall of Fame as a Sports Writer in 1972. He is the honorary namesake of the Vernie Moffitt MVP award at Waterloo.

Check out the Jan. 23 & 30 editions of the Republic-Times to learn more about the second Waterloo Hall of Fame class.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email