Municipal election filing period begins Monday

Since September, those seeking re-election or mulling a possible candidacy for elected city, park district and school board seats have been picking up petitions and collecting signatures to run for office in the April 3, 2013 election.

The first day to file completed candidate petitions is Monday, Dec. 17, and continues through Wednesday, Dec. 26, at 5 p.m. The filing deadline was recently changed from Dec. 24 due to the Christmas holiday.

The aldermanic seats up for election on the Waterloo City Council are those currently held by Russ Thomas (Ward 1), Rita Trantham (Ward 2), Gerry Frederick (Ward 3) and Vicki Koerber (Ward 4). All of those candidates have picked up petitions, as has Michael Tjemmes in Ward 1.

On the Waterloo School Board, the seats currently held by Dwight Boehm (3.10 Township/Range), Linda Pickett   (2.10 Township/Range) and Tom Schrieber  (2.9 Township/Range) are up for election. School board executive secretary Laverne Pflueger said last week that “several people have picked up petitions, but they could be picking up for another person.” Johnny Caupert (2.10 Township/Range) has indicated his intent to file for candidacy. It is also believed Steve Wheat has interest in running.

As for the Waterloo Park District Board, seats currently held by Joann Harlin, Shelby Mathes, Kim Holtgrieve, and Ken Niemann are up for election in April. Waterloo Park District attorney Mary Buettner told the Republic-Times that while all current park board members have picked up petitions, Holtgrieve has said she will not run for re-election.

In addition to the offices of mayor (Kevin Hutchinson), treasurer (Bob Naumann) and city clerk (Ron Colyer), aldermanic seats up for election in Columbia are those currently held by Jim Agne (Ward 1), Mark Roessler (Ward 2), Gene Ebersohl (Ward 3) and Mary Ellen Niemietz (Ward 4).

All of those candidates have picked up petitions to run again, as has former city clerk Wes Hoeffken for his old position. Pharmacy store owner Paul Khoury has picked up a petition in Ward 3.

The recently vacated Ward 4 seat previously held by John Piazza is also up for election to a two-year term. Former alderman Brad Oberkfell has picked up a petition for that seat.

There will be six seats up for election on the Columbia School Board in April. Four seats will be up for four-year terms  (three incorporated, one unincorporated), with two other seats open for two-year terms (one incorporated, one unincorporated).

The four-year terms of Karen Anderson, Ron Langhans and Marshal Stout, along with the seat formerly held by Jerry Paul, will be up, as well as the two-year terms of Brad Roessler and the seat formerly held by Dave Rodenberg. Greg O’Connor and Randy Simmons have since been appointed as board replacements for Paul and Rodenberg.

Only those current board members had picked up petitions for candidacy as of last week, the school district office indicated.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Corey Saathoff

Corey is the editor of the Republic-Times. He has worked at the newspaper since 2004, and currently resides in Columbia. He is also the principal singer-songwriter and plays guitar in St. Louis area country-rock band The Trophy Mules.
HTC web