Rotary Club of Monroe County receives official charter

The Rotary Club of Monroe County celebrated its charter night with an evening of socializing, dancing and fellowship March 21 at The Falls in Columbia. Charter members are, (not in order), Trish Bourgeois, Louie Bourgeois, Tina Charron, Gary Crawford, Savannah Day, Julie Eggers, Lynn Feilner, Alan Feilner, Nora Feuquay, Rachel Giffhorn, Kevin Grace, Linda Gutknecht, Kevin Hicks, Bonnie Kuergeleis, George Mueller, Candice Pensoneau, Stephen Thom, Gail Troupe and Heath Williams. Not pictured is Margaret Pickett. (Robyn Dexter photo)

The Rotary International civic service organization expanded its presence in Monroe County by adding a third Rotary club.

The Rotary Club of Monroe County joins established clubs in Columbia and Waterloo to provide community and international service. Local members received a charter on March 21 at The Falls to join the global association of Rotary International’s more than 32,000 clubs in nearly 170 countries.

The Rotary Club of Monroe County was co-sponsored by the Columbia Rotary Club and the Waterloo Rotary Club. Rotary club membership represents a cross-section of the community’s business and professional men and women. Rotary clubs meet weekly and are nonpolitical, nonreligious, and open to all cultures and creeds.

During its provisional period, the Rotary Club of Monroe County provided dictionaries to approximately 230 third grade students in two schools in Waterloo.

This year, they plan on expanding the program to include Valmeyer.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email