Gibault baseball | Team of the Week


The Gibault High School baseball team is this week’s Republic-Times Team of the Week.

The Hawks (25-11) won the baseball program’s first IHSA State Tournament trophy Saturday in the Class 1A tournament played at Dozer Park in Peoria, defeating Shawnee, 9-2, in the semifinal game and Putnam County, 6-2, in the championship game.

In the team’s seven post-season games, they outscored their opponents 60-13.

To read more on the team’s state title run, pick up a copy of the award winning Republic-Times — on stands Wednesday. Or subscribe online today!

Gibault state baseball quick links:

The 2013 state championship team, pictured, bottom row, from left, is: Mitch Meyer, Chandler Purcell, Ryley Wallin, Zach Neff, Auggie Ward, Tyler Enright, Josh Brinkmann, Chase Dugan and Alec Skaer; back row, GHS principal Russ Hart, coach Andy Skaer, assistant coaches Nathan Schmersahl, Jeff Bell and Brian Lupa, Ricky Schmersahl, Nick McBride, Austin Beccue, Wes Degener, Adam Kreher, Matt Schreder, Will Shepherd, Jordan McFarland, Zac Epplin, Ryan Sanders, Adam Briesacher, assistant coaches Ken Niemann and Steve Bergheger and GHS Athletic Director Jim Montgomery. (Teryn Schaefer photo)

Congrats Hawks, on your history making weekend!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email