R-T All-Local Girls Soccer Team


The girls soccer season did not disappoint in Monroe County this past spring, with Waterloo winning a sectional title and Columbia going 22-4 and nearly doing the same.

Here’s a look at this year’s Republic-Times All-Local Girls Soccer Team, which features plenty of talent from Waterloo, Columbia and Gibault. Look for many of these young women to shine again in 2019.

Kennedy Jones, Columbia. This junior forward really made a name for herself in 2018, scoring 51 goals with 19 assists to rank among the top scorers in the St. Louis area. She was named to the Illinois High School Soccer Coaches Association All-State Team and Chicagoland Soccer 2018 Girls All-State Team.

Sydney Luedeman, Waterloo. This senior was the heart and soul of a Bulldogs squad that enjoyed its most successful season in program history. Luedeman’s 31 goals and five assists this season put her at the top of the all-time goals and scoring lists at WHS. She also earned IHSSCA All-Sectional Honorable Mention recognition.

Sydney Stephens, Waterloo. Adding to Luedeman’s offensive firepower for the Bulldogs, Stephens enjoyed a breakout sophomore season with 18 goals and 14 assists. She earned IHSSCA All-Sectional honors.

Sophia Bonaldi, Columbia. Following a strong winter on the basketball court, Bonaldi posted a solid season on the turf as well. She scored 10 goals with 18 assists and earned IHSSCA All-Sectional honors.

Abby Phelps, Gibault. This senior was a leader for a young Hawks squad that improved as the season wore on. She scored five goals this spring and earned IHSSCA All-Sectional Honorable Mention accolades.

Chloe Graff, Columbia. Another talented junior for the Eagles, Graff had 10 goals and 15 assists, including four game-winning goals. Expect even bigger numbers next season.

Taylor Parks, Columbia. This senior led a solid defensive corps for the Eagles. She earned IHSSCA All-Sectional honors.

Halle Haudrich, Gibault. A strong sophomore season on defense for Haudrich provides promise in 2019 for the young Hawks.

Dani Maurer, Waterloo. Another talented senior for the Bulldogs, Maurer helped anchor what turned out to be a nearly impenetrable defense this season. 

Sierra Berg, Waterloo. Same as listed above, Berg joined Maurer to lead a solid  and experienced Bulldogs defense.

Bailey Bosler, Waterloo. This senior posted a 14-2-3 record with 12 shutouts for the Bulldogs, earning IHSSCA All-Sectional Honorable Mention accolades…>>>

Fae Harrell, Columbia. A strong junior season provides hope for the Eagles in 2019. Harrell finished with 11 goals and seven assists.

Reagan Mauch, Columbia. As if the Eagles didn’t already have enough offensive firepower, this sophomore provided more with 12 goals and nine assists.

Haley Glover, Columbia. Another talented sophomore for the Eagles, Glover scored 10 goals with 10 assists this past spring.

Paige Kinzinger, Waterloo. The Bulldogs have some talented underclassmen of their own, including this sophomore who scored 10 goals with five assists.

Karleigh Daniels, Waterloo. Speaking of talented sophomores, Daniels scored seven goals with eight assists for the Bulldogs.

Nicole Lindsey, Gibault. This junior should provide some leadership for the Hawks in 2019. She finished with three assists on the season. 

Emma Novack, Waterloo. Another member of Waterloo’s talented 2018 class, Novack finished with five assists.

Kate Kennedy, Waterloo. Yet another senior, Kennedy scored a goal with 10 assists while providing solid defense.

Jenna Jackson, Columbia. This junior defender scored a goal with nine assists this season. 

Brooke Biffar, Gibault. Only a freshman, Biffar flashed signs of brilliance on the soccer pitch. The best is yet to come.

Rylee Iorio, Columbia. Despite missing part of the season to injury, Iorio posted a record of 17-2 with 10 shutouts to secure IHSSCA All-Sectional honors.

Maddie Davis (Gibault), Alison Carr (Columbia), Mary Gasaway (Columbia), Ali Scace (Waterloo), Kelly Papenberg (Gibault), Kayla Huels (Gibault), Sydney Bockhorn (Waterloo), Mady Thompson (Gibault), Kyra Bivins (Columbia), Lauren Kennedy (Waterloo), Lauren Roderick (Columbia)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email