Candidate petition process begins Sept. 25 - Republic-Times | News

Candidate petition process begins Sept. 25

By on September 19, 2012 at 10:17 am

The first day to obtain and circulate candidate petitions for elected city and school district offices in the April 9, 2013, election is Tuesday.

Petitions may be picked up at Waterloo City Hall (939-8600), Columbia City Hall (281-7144, ext. 104), and at the Waterloo (939-3453) and Columbia (281-2500) school district offices, respectively.

The first day to file candidate petitions is Monday, Dec. 17, and continues through Monday, Dec. 24.

The aldermanic seats up for election on the Waterloo City Council are those currently held by Russ Thomas (Ward 1), Rita Trantham (Ward 2), Gerry Frederick (Ward 3) and Vicki Koerber (Ward 4).

In addition to the offices of mayor (Kevin Hutchinson), treasurer (Bob Naumann) and city clerk (Ron Colyer), the four-year aldermanic seats up for election in Columbia are those currently held by Jim Agne (Ward 1), Mark Roessler (Ward 2), Gene Ebersohl (Ward 3) and Mary Ellen Niemietz (Ward 4).

The recently vacated Ward 4 seat previously held by John Piazza will also be up for election to a two-year term. Elected in 2011, Piazza resigned earlier this month due to a job relocation. The mayor has not yet appointed anyone to fill this vacancy.

On the Waterloo School Board, the seats currently held by Dwight Boehm (3.10 Township/Range), Linda Pickett   (2.10 Township/Range) and Tom Schrieber  (2.9 Township/Range) are up for election.

There will be six seats up for election on the Columbia School Board in April. Four seats will be up for four-year terms  (three incorporated, one unincorporated), with two other seats open for two-year terms (one incorporated, one unincorporated).

The four-year terms of Karen Anderson, Ron Langhans and Marshal Stout, along with the seat formerly held by Jerry Paul, will be up, as well as the two-year terms of Brad Roessler and the seat formerly held by Dave Rodenberg.

Greg O’Connor and Randy Simmons have since been appointed as board replacements for Paul and Rodenberg.

Corey Saathoff

Corey is the editor of the Republic-Times. He has worked at the newspaper since 2004, and currently resides in Columbia. He is also the principal singer-songwriter and plays guitar in St. Louis area country-rock band The Trophy Mules.